City of Edna Bay - Special Meeting

1 — Meeting Date, Place and Call to order:

This Special meeting was held on Friday, October 6th, 2023 at Edna Bay School and via WebEx. Mayor Poelstra called the meeting to order at 6:02 PM.

2 — Roll Call:

Tyler Poelstra - Mayor / City Council (Present)
Myla Poelstra - Clerk + Treasurer / City Council (Present)
Seat C - City Council (Vacant)

Mike Williams - City Council (Present - teleconference)

Sandy Henson - City Council (Present)
Paul Haag - City Council (Absent)
Seat G - City Council (Vacant)

2.1 — Public Participants:

Katie Buss Teran Poelstra Roger DiPaolo

3 — Consent Agenda:

A: Approval of Meeting Agenda:

The current agenda was read by Mayor Poelstra.

Consensus of the public attendants was taken in favor, and no objections were noted.

Motion:

Mayor Poelstra moved to approve the consent agenda as presented.

- Seconded by Councilor Henson
- Approved by unanimous vote of the council

3.1 — Special Business:

• a: Election Review Committee and Certification of Election.

4_

Special Business

Item A - Election Review Committee and Certification of Election:

After the meeting was opened, Roger DiPaolo transferred one original copy of the preliminary election results form to Myla Poelstra. The original stored in the City safe and the original received from Roger were compared and read back, verifying the tallies and results matched. Mayor Poelstra then read back the municipal code specific to the certification process, and ensured the procedure was executed as written.

Absentee ballots were then removed from the safe, one by one, their envelope date stamp checked, the envelope opened and the oath read back and reviewed. Two (2) absentee ballots requested were returned on time, and both oaths were complete in form. Each ballot was then removed from their respective oath envelope, ballot stub removed and ballot officially cast.

There was one Defective ballot cast during the regular election. The ballot had 4 named candidates properly checked, and also had 4 write-in names properly written and checked. The write-in names were the same as the 4 candidates that were selected in the opposite side of the ballot. After discussion, it was agreed that it since the names of write-in fields matched the selected candidates, it could be determined for whom the voter intended to vote. It was agreed to only count one vote for each of the 4 candidates selected by the voter.

After counting the 2 absentee ballots and 1 defective ballot the election results were as follows:

1: Jay Leland Towne - 24 votes 2: Sandra Jean Henson - 22 votes 3: Doris Elaine Greif - 21 votes 4: Louise Marie DiPaolo - 18 votes 5: Caleb James Kitson - 9 votes The Certificate of Election Results was then prepared, signed and stamped with the City seal.

Motion:

Mayor Poelstra moves to authorize certification of the 2023 General Election, wth the following results:

- · Louise Marie DiPaolo will fill Seat C with 18 votes;
- · Sandra Jean Henson will retain Seat E with 22 votes;
- · Jay Leland Towne will fill Seat F with 24 votes;
- Doris Elaine Greif will fill Seat G with 21 votes.
- Seconded by Councilor Williams
- Approved Unanimously by vote of the council

5

Persons to Be Heard

None.

Adjournment

Mayor Poelstra moved that the meeting be adjourned. Motion to adjourn seconded by Councilor Henson. Meeting adjourned at 6:31 PM.